Connect with us


INEC declares Oyebanji of APC winner of Ekiti gov election



Supporters of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ekiti State celebrated in the early hours of today (Sunday) after the results of Saturday’s governorship election revealed that the party’s candidate, Mr Biodun Oyebanji, had defeated the 15 other contenders.

INEC declares Oyebanji of APC winner of Ekiti gov election

INEC declares Oyebanji of APC winner of Ekiti gov election

Oyebanji, who is the immediate past Secretary to the State Government, won in 15 out of the 16 Local Government Areas of the state. He polled 187,057 votes.

However, his closest challenger, Mr Segun Oni, of the Social Democratic Party, scored 82,211 votes while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Bisi Kolawole, scored 67,457 votes. Kolawole won his LGA, Efon, where he scored 6,303 to beat APC’s 4,012 and SDP’s 339 votes.

Meanwhile, our correspondents who monitored the exercise across the state reported that in Ado-Ekiti, the state capital, residents trooped to the streets to celebrate the victory in the dead of the night. At the Government House in the Oke Ayoba area of the town, other APC governors, led by the state governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, monitored the exercise.


Similarly, in Ikogosi-Ekiti, Ekiti West Local Government Area, where Oyebanji hails from, residents also began celebrating the victory of their kinsman at the poll.

Also in Ikere-Ekiti, where Oyebanji’s running mate, Mrs Monitade Afuye, hails from, residents also began celebration as the results were announced by the respective local government Returning Officers.

In different parts of the state also, some of the ruling party celebrated the victory, describing it as well-deserved.


Join us on Facebook