Connect with us


FG Considers Lockdown Of 18 Local Government Areas



In the next step of eased lockdown in the country, the Federal Government can consider a lockdown of the 18 Local Government Areas considered to account for 60% of reported COVID-19 cases in Nigeria.

In an interview with Live News Nigeria and other State House correspondents, the Chairman of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha, gave the impression after leading some Task Force members to brief the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Monday.

Mustapha, who is the Federation’s secretary of government, said affected governments should enforce what he called “precision lockdown.”

While acknowledging that the nation has not reached its height as regards reported cases, he urged all stakeholders to ensure that all non-pharmaceutical measures are complied with.

He also provided an insight into the explanation behind Nigeria ‘s low fatality rate, saying 80 percent of infections are in the 31-40 year age group, which he described as a very active part of the population.

According to data previously released by the Nigeria Center for Disease Control, in Lagos State, 11 out of 20 local government areas accounted for 60 % of cases.

READ ALSO: President Buhari Reveals Plan To Lift 100 Million Nigerians Out Of Poverty

The report listed the councils to include the Lagos Mainland Local Government Area, Abuja Municipal Area Council, Mushin Local Government Area, Eti-Osa Local Government Area in Lagos, and Kano State Local Government Area in Tarauni.

Data obtained from the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control by Live News Nigeria as of June 2, showed that most cases of COVID-19 in Nigeria have been reported by local government areas in Lagos and Abuja.

Here is the list of the 20 Local Governments, according to the NCDC’s Situation Report 91 for June 2:

1 – Lagos – Lagos Mainland LG

2 – Abuja – Abuja Municipal

3 – Lagos – Mushin

4 – Lagos – Eti-Osa

5 – Kano – Tarauni

6 – katsina – Katsina

7 – Lagos – Alimosho

8 – Borno – Maiduguri

9 – Lagos – Kosofe

10 – Jigawa – Dutse

11 – Lagos – Ikeja

12 – Kano – Nassarawa

13 – Lagos – Oshodi/Isolo

14 – Lagos – Apapa

15 – Lagos – Amuwo Odofin

16 – Edo – Oredo

17 – Bauchi – Bauchi

18 – Lagos – Lagos Island

19 – Lagos – Surulere

20 – Ogun – Ado Odo/Ota


Join us on Facebook